Time flies and then it’s Easter

Ahhhh….  So time truly flies and not only when you’re having fun but in general.  It’s a holy time of year for so many around the world and I think now is a great time to reflect on what we’re grateful for because how else will we truly appreciate life.  Now, I’m not the most religious of people and I’m not going to turn my blog into a forum for preaching the good word but I will use it as a means to spout my feelings.  Far too often we become consumed by “things”, don’t get me wrong because I am a collector of all things awesome but those material goods haven’t shaped who I am nor will they shape who I’ll be in 10 years, but making “things” be the end all be all driving force for how we measure success is ridiculous.  Being in the US, success is definitely synonymous with how much money one makes and what kind of “things” one can amass in a lifetime.  Why?!?  Shouldn’t success be measured in happiness and memories?  In terms of money I am far from successful by all financial standards 1) I have overspent a majority of my life on “things” and 2) I spend my money on memories.

I’m not saying that people should go into debt making memories but isn’t that exactly what a majority of people do in pursuit of a college education?  Most people aren’t going to sit around and talk about that riveting Macro Economics class they took their 2nd year but they will reminisce about the “good old days in college” because they essentially spent $30k+ on a piece of paper and a lifetime of memories.  We spend so much time working to earn money and in my opinion we should spend more time and more of that money making memories.

Personally,  I am heavily invested in family and friends and all of my holidays are consumed by being surrounded by family and as much as I hate the family gatherings my life would not be the same without them.  For example today is Easter and I’ve been cooking for today’s gathering for the last two hours and I’m stressed and pressed for time but to see everyone happy and smiling at the end of the day it will all be worth it – because those are memories that will shape future decisions.

Like I said I spend money and time on memories and I do so through dancing, travel and AdvoCare.  I choose to dance at Arthur Murray, which is a tremendous financial expense, and I’ve received so many memories and friends that I would never have had/met any other way.  Through Arthur Murray I’ve met some of the kindest most genuine people that have influenced me to be a better person and I’ve learned to do a little dancing along the way.  Travel…  Oh how I love traveling and if I didn’t have so many obligations I would probably do a lot more of it.  I have a laundry list of places that I want to see and experiences that I want to have, the time and money that it will/has require(d) is well worth it.  AdvoCare is very similar in my heart to Arthur Murray because I’ve met people that I wouldn’t have any other way and they’re so amazing; I’m tremendously grateful for having the opportunity to meet them and have them influence who I am becoming as a person.  Because of my association with AdvoCare I have had the opportunity to go to Albany, NY and to Dallas, TX and I’ll be 100% honest those are two places that I’ve never been interested in but I’m glad that I went to both.

I’m grateful for the opportunities that I’ve had to travel, to have amazing people in my life, and have experiences.  I’m hoping that the rest of this year is as fruitful in memories as years past.  If I could change anything it would be that I document these experiences more frequently in photographs than I have.

To sum up I’ll leave you with some of my memories.

My trip to the Great Wall:

DSC_0035

My trip to Dallas:

IMG_1337

My trip to Datong (China):

DSCF2422

Dancing:

IMG00020-20110916-2146

One thought on “Time flies and then it’s Easter

Leave a comment